Tong Yuan is the 7th method of Yuan Gong and its purpose is to open the heart (Xin).

In Ren Xue, the heart is more than a physical organ – it is where your Xin Ling, or heart consciousness resides.

When the heart is open the Five Xin, the five essential heart qualities – trust, openness, love, gratitude, and Gongjing (true respect) will naturally manifest in every moment of life. The ability to freely and unconditionally express the five essential heart qualities towards yourself and everyone and everything in the universe is your true nature.

Tong Yuan is a collection of guided meditations that help us examine and connect with the Five Xin. Through the three stages of practice, we can build the connection with our hearts, learn to manifest Xin qualities in various area of everyday life, deepen the experiences of these qualities, and eventually manifest them without any conditions in every moment of life.

Within Tong Yuan each quality has three stages, and for the first time the third stage, which facilitates the manifestation of unconditional Five Xin as a state of the heart, is now available.

If you have been practicing the first two stages and feel ready to try the third stage – link below to purchase it from the Learn REN XUE website where you will be able to play and access it in an ongoing way.  If you want to know more about the practice – to learn or progress to the third stage, read below.

About the Five Xin

Trust is the beginning of meeting our heart face-to-face. It is the bridge that allows us to communicate with and know our own heart. Without trust, we are filled with doubt, anxiety, and fear.

Listen to a sample of Trust (first stage):

The natural state of the heart is to be open. It is not meant to be locked away. An open heart is the doorway to life; the entry to an inexhaustible source of vitality. When the heart is open, life is like a vast ocean without any restrictions.

Listen to a sample of Openness (first stage):

Love plays a special role in our life. It is present in every cell of our bodies and it influences every aspect of life. Without love, the opposite qualities manifest, creating dis-ease, fear, indifference, or even hate. Like every heart quality, love’s presence is wholly dependent on the presence of the other four heart qualities.

Listen to a sample of Love (first stage):

Gratitude is the manifestation of goodness, beauty, and wisdom. When we feel gratitude we nourish our heart; it becomes softer, purer, more open and loving. We feel more joy and happiness.

When gratitude is missing, we feel a sense of lack no matter how much we have.

Listen to a sample of Gratitude (first stage):

Gongjing is a composite quality. It includes all the heart qualities as well as understanding, accommodation, empathy, appreciation, and compassion. Loosely translated, Gongjing means true respect. What is true respect? When we have true respect, we see everyone and everything as equally important, equally valuable.

Listen to a sample of Gongjing (first stage):

Learn Tong Yuan

Online Classes

Learn Tong Yuan from a REN XUE Teacher.  Check out the Calendar for Online Classes on our Learn REN XUE website – just choose the Tong Yuan filter through the red Calendar button.  Or find a teacher in your region on our Teacher Directory.

At Home Learning

Learn Tong Yuan from the REN XUE of the America’s At-Home-Learning program here, which includes MP3s and PDFs of the meditations.

Practice Tong Yuan

First Stage of Tong Yuan

Purchase the first stage of Tong Yuan here from our Learn REN XUE website, where you will have ongoing access to the audios, downloads and PDFs of the meditations from your Portal.

Second Stage of Tong Yuan

Once you’re familiar with the first stage of Tong Yuan, move on to the second stage here to deepen your understanding and experience of the Five Xin.

Third Stage of Tong Yuan

Now available for the first time!  Download the third stage now if you’ve been practicing stages one and two and feel ready to progress with the practice.


Is Yuan Gong Safe?

For a Qigong practice to be safe, its design must be based on a comprehensive and authentic understanding of how the body, Qi and the consciousness work and their complex relationships with one another. Yuan Tze created Yuan Gong when he saw the need for a Qigong system that would work comprehensively on the whole of life.

Read more about Safety in Yuan Gong.

What are the Heart Qualities?

The Five Essential Heart Qualities, or Five Xin - trust, openness, love, gratitude, and Gongjing (true respect), are a natural part of human life; humans are born with them. The manifestation of Five Xin plays a crucial role in wellbeing and growth.

Read more about the heart qualities.

Yuan Tze lifestyle

Who created Ren Xue?

Yuan Tze developed Ren Xue through the realization and wisdom he gained from his life cultivation. Ren Xue reflects his profound understanding of the law of life and the law of the universe.

Read more about Yuan Tze here

Watch Yuan Tze The Early Years on REN XUE TV


Share Your Experience of Tong Yuan

1 + 1 =