The purpose of Xia Yuan is to strengthen the functions of the organs, prevent organ illness and continually improve organ health.  

Read about the role of organs and emotions in Qigong.

Xia Yuan is the first in the Second Internal Transformation Stage – this stage effects internal change on a deep level.  This method is the bridge between the first three methods and the fifth. It helps advance your Qigong level built by the practice of the first three methods and further deepens their effects. It also builds the foundation for subsequent methods.

While it has complex elements of sounds, mind activity, visualization and hand forms, it is a simple method that is relatively easy to learn and practice, and is designed to be efficient so the practice is relatively short.

About the practice of

Xia Yuan

Trust is the beginning of meeting our heart face-to-face. It is the bridge that allows us to communicate with and know our own heart. Without trust, we are filled with doubt, anxiety, and fear.

Listen to a sample of Trust (first stage):

The natural state of the heart is to be open. It is not meant to be locked away. An open heart is the doorway to life; the entry to an inexhaustible source of vitality. When the heart is open, life is like a vast ocean without any restrictions.

Listen to a sample of Openness (first stage):

Love plays a special role in our life. It is present in every cell of our bodies and it influences every aspect of life. Without love, the opposite qualities manifest, creating dis-ease, fear, indifference, or even hate. Like every heart quality, love’s presence is wholly dependent on the presence of the other four heart qualities.

Listen to a sample of Love (first stage):

Gratitude is the manifestation of goodness, beauty, and wisdom. When we feel gratitude we nourish our heart; it becomes softer, purer, more open and loving. We feel more joy and happiness.

When gratitude is missing, we feel a sense of lack no matter how much we have.

Listen to a sample of Gratitude (first stage):

Gongjing is a composite quality. It includes all the heart qualities as well as understanding, accommodation, empathy, appreciation, and compassion. Loosely translated, Gongjing means true respect. What is true respect? When we have true respect, we see everyone and everything as equally important, equally valuable.

Listen to a sample of Gongjing (first stage):

Learn Xia Yuan

Online Classes

Learn Tong Yuan from a REN XUE Teacher.  Check out the Calendar for Online Classes above – just choose the Tong Yuan filter through the red Calendar button.  Or find a teacher in your region below.

At Home Learning

Learn Xia Yuan from REN XUE of the America’s At-Home-Learning program, which includes MP3s and PDFs of the meditations.

Practice Xia Yuan

Video No.3: Demonstration of Xia Yuan

This Demonstration video follows No.20 Yuan Qigong practice audio.  Xia Yuan practice is designed to improve organ Qi.  Sustained practice can improve the health of the organs.  This video is only for demonstration of the practice, it is not a learning tool.  Proper instructions from qualified teachers are essential for accurate and effective practice of Xia Yuan.


Audio No.20 Xia Yuan (40 minutes)

Deepen your practice of Yuan Gong with its fourth method, Xia Yuan. Which focuses on strengthening the organs and Qi channels.


What is Qigong?

Qigong is an ancient practice dating back 2,500 years and practiced worldwide by an estimated 80 million people. REN XUE integrates its own Qigong system with a modern understanding of health and wellbeing.

Watch What is Qigong? on REN XUE TV

What Is Qi?

Qi is a substance containing energy, information and material. It responds to our thoughts and intentions. Qi is the “building blocks” of the Universe.

Watch What is Qi? on REN XUE TV

What Is Enlightenment?

In Ren Xue, Enlightenment is stage on the pathway to realising our true human potential when the True Self (or Shen) manifests and you are able to live life in a state of pure awareness.

Watch What is Enlightenment? on REN XUE TV


Share Your Experience of Xia Yuan

4 + 9 =